Uriel Roque Named ACAA Offensive Player of the Week

Uriel Roque Named ACAA Offensive Player of the Week

Courtesy of the ACAA.


Oscar Uriel Roque of Pine Manor, Hozai Ceballos of Wisconsin-Whitewater and Liam Linas of UC Santa Cruz have been named the American Collegiate Athletic Association Men's Soccer Players of the Week.

Uriel Roque, a first-year midfielder from Santa Rosa, CA (Montgomery HS), scored three goals last week helping Pine Manor to two overtime wins and five straight wins overall. He scored the opener on Wednesday vs. Plymouth State in the team's 4-3 come-from-behind overtime win. But he had his best performance of the year Saturday scoring both goals for the Gators'  2-1 victory over Emmanuel. Pine Manor played 70 minutes down a player and Roque scored his second, the game-winner, in overtime on a sensational back-heel, upper-90 shot. Roque now leads the team with five goals in seven games. 

Ceballos, a senior forward from Janesville, WI (Janesville Craig HS) enjoyed a 12-point week to help the Warhawks win all five of their matches, including four on the road, remain undefeated for the season (8-0) and extend the nation's longest active winning streak to 14 matches, a program record. He started the week by tallying one assist Monday in UW-Whitewater's 7-0 triumph at Lawrence, and recorded two goals during a three-minute span in the second half Wednesday, including the game-winner, during the Warhawks' 3-2 win at Marian. Ceballos recorded another game-winning goal Friday in UW-Whitewater's 1-0 victory at Edgewood, finding the back of the net in the 79th minute. He collected five points, including two goals and one assist, on Sunday in the Warhawks' 6-0 win over Olivet (Mich.).

Linas, a first-year midfielder from San Clemente, CA (San Clemente HS), played All 200 minutes at right back as UCSC shut out both Pacific Lutheran and #17 Puget Sound at their Slugfest tournament. He contributed one assist and helped control play to hold the ranked Loggers without a shot on frame in a double-overtime tie

Others Nominated:  Offensive: Hozai Ceballos (Wisconsin-Whitewater); Mathurin Allawai (Valley Forge). Defensive: Jake Farley (Wis.-Whitewater), Esteban Avila, (Pine Manor), Noah Raisanen, (Finlandia); Nick Turick (Valley Forge).


September 3 - Ari Sidman, UC Santa Cruz
September 10 - Jose Gonzalez, Pine Manor
September 17 - Oscar Uriel Roque, Pine Manor
                          Hozai Ceballos, Wisconsin-Whitewater

September 3 - Jake King, Wisconsin-Whitewater
September 10 - Trevor Johnson, Wisconsin-Whitewater
September 17 - Liam Linas, UC Santa Cruz